Experience Makes The Difference

KERR & HOLLAND have more than 60 years of combined experience and expertise

OUR CLIENTS

For more than 20 years, we have consistently demonstrated to the satisfaction of our many clients, the superior technical abilities of ’s personnel and the resultant benefits gained by our clients, following our appointment; please take a moment to read a small sample of testimonials that have been received from our valued satisfied clients over the years.

  • Golf Club 

    Nelson Bay

    Background:

    Fire destroyed Nelson Bay Golf Club’s clubhouse on 6 September 2015. were engaged to assist with the preparation of the Material Damage & Business Interruption claims.

    Dear Daryl

    This letter is written on behalf of the Board of Directors and the Members of Nelson Bay Golf Club. First of all, it was very good to have you as our guest at the recent celebrations of the opening of the new Clubhouse. However, and more importantly, I would like to thank you for the most professional manner in which you managed our Insurance Claim arising from the fire on Fathers’ Day 2015.

    General Manager, Nelson Bay Golf Club

    Dear Daryl

    This letter is written on behalf of the Board of Directors and the Members of Nelson Bay Golf Club. First of all, it was very good to have you as our guest at the recent celebrations of the opening of the new Clubhouse. However, and more importantly, I would like to thank you for the most professional manner in which you managed our Insurance Claim arising from the fire on Fathers’ Day 2015.

    Your knowledge of the insurance claim process and attention to detail was a great comfort to us as we forged our way ahead in basically unchartered waters. You certainly made life much easier for us and we congratulate and thank you for bringing each of our claims to such a satisfactorily conclusion. It has been a pleasure dealing with you and I can assure you that you will always be welcome at Nelson Bay Golf Club.

    General Manager, Nelson Bay Golf Club

  • Pub & Nightclub 

    Canberra

    Background:

    Fire damage occurred to the complex that housed Mooseheads Pub & Nightclub in February 2014. Whilst significant damage occurred to a large portion of the building, minor damage only occurred to Mooseheads’ premises. Despite repairs to Mooseheads’ property being completed shortly after the fire, the business suffered a marked reduction in Turnover as access to the premises was hindered due to extensive damage to the complex. were engaged to assist with the preparation of the Business Interruption claim.

    Dear Daryl

    Chaos to Calm!

    I had the opportunity, through my broker, to talk to Daryl Holland from Pty Limited, Claim Preparation Consultants. The initial call with Daryl was, I am sure, very unpleasant from his end, as I was like a cat with her claws out after the Loss Adjuster appointed by our Insurer had withdrawn all support and just left my family business out in the cold.

    This company and in particular Daryl, assisted with the preparation of our Business Interruption insurance claim. The claim was not easy. The year prior to the fire we had only part traded due to a complete refurbishment of the premises....most recent trading figures are the first documents that were asked for.

    Proprietor, Mooseheads Pub & Nightclub

    Dear Daryl

    Chaos to Charm!

    I had the opportunity, through my broker, to talk to Daryl Holland from Pty Limited, Claim Preparation Consultants. The initial call with Daryl was, I am sure, very unpleasant from his end, as I was like a cat with her claws out after the Loss Adjuster appointed by our Insurer had withdrawn all support and just left my family business out in the cold.

    This company and in particular Daryl, assisted with the preparation of our Business Interruption insurance claim. The claim was not easy. The year prior to the fire we had only part traded due to a complete refurbishment of the premises....most recent trading figures are the first documents that were asked for.

    The second obstacle was to prove that the complete partitioning and black streets in the vicinity of our premises was an obstacle to trade. Mooseheads is a late night venue that requires well lit, safe and covered access to ensure continued custom. I did not have any of these ...but where is the proof. In July 2014, I saw a newspaper article that backed up all that I had been stating.

    Daryl asked many pertinent questions and sought relevant documentation in support, working through each and every transaction to explain the claim and then quantify the true financial loss experienced by the business. Daryl was diligent and precise, analysing previous years to prove trends and show trading consistencies. As part of our claim, it was also necessary for Daryl to address a number of complex Policy coverage issues. All of these issues were well handled and resolved to my satisfaction. Mooseheads is a Pub and Nightclub, I feel one of the hardest business groups to understand and value.

    Daryl had the patience of Job with me, always calm and his questions were direct. The process was made understandable as Daryl always explained each step fully and allowed for my moments of vent without judgement.

    Mooseheads has recently received the full amount of its entitlement for compensation under the company's Business Interruption Policy. A personal thanks to Daryl Holland for his support, knowledge, tenacity and assistance provided to me.

    As I started out in this letter – from Chaos to Calm. Thank you again, Daryl.

    Proprietor, Mooseheads Pub & Nightclub

  • Bowling Club 

    Nelson Bay

    Background:

    Fire damage occurred to Nelson Bay Bowling and Recreation Club’s Bistro in July 2012. The Bistro suffered significant damage. Fortunately, there was only minor smoke damage to adjoining function rooms and member amenities. were engaged to assist with the preparation of the Material Damage & Business Interruption claims.

    Dear Daryl and Greg

    On behalf of the Nelson Bay Bowling and Recreation Club I would like to thank both of you for your professionalism, help and support during the insurance claim process of the fire in our Bistro which occurred on the 28th of July 2012.

    Without your assistance, I am sure the club would not have ended up with the fantastic result that was achieved not only in getting the clubs Bistro rebuilt and back up and running in 3 months, but in finalising the building and business interruption claim in under 8 months from the date of the event.

    Secretary Manager, Nelson Bay Bowling & Recreation Club

    Dear Daryl and Greg

    On behalf of the Nelson Bay Bowling and Recreation Club I would like to thank both of you for your professionalism, help and support during the insurance claim process of the fire in our Bistro which occurred on the 28th of July 2012.

    Without your assistance, I am sure the club would not have ended up with the fantastic result that was achieved not only in getting the clubs Bistro rebuilt and back up and running in 3 months, but in finalising the building and business interruption claim in under 8 months from the date of the event.

    Your experience in dealing with the Insurers loss adjustors was invaluable, and made a real difference in the club being compensated to the maximum available regarding the event and the clubs insurance coverage. The countless hours of work also put into analysing the clubs trading history and putting together the business interruption claim was appreciated and in the end well worth the effort.

    As discussed I would be more than happy to recommend your services to other interested parties within or outside of the club industry. It is great to know there is experienced and honest help and advice for business to assist them should an unfortunate event involving insurance occur.

    Secretary Manager, Nelson Bay Bowling & Recreation Club

  • Jet Engine Manufacturer 

    Christchurch, New Zealand

    Background:

    Earthquake damage to CWF Hamilton & Co (trading as HamiltonJet) factory complex following September 2011 Christchurch earthquake. were engaged to assist with the preparation of the Material Damage claim.

    Hi Daryl

    Thanks for your assistance with this matter. I am sure we would not have achieved such a good outcome without your involvement.

    Chief Financial Officer, CWF Hamilton & Co
  • Registered Charity 

    Allambie Heights

    Background:

    Fire destroyed The Spastic Centre’s Head Office and Administration building in December 2007. (The Spastic Centre is now known as Cerebral Palsy Alliance). were engaged to assist with preparation of the Material Damage and Business Interruption insurance claims.

    Hi Daryl

    We are extremely grateful for the hard work, expert advice, patience and support that you provided to us over the past 4+ years to achieve this satisfactory result. Thank you, we look forward to sharing a celebratory drink with you at a future occasion.

    Chief Executive Officer & Company Secretary, Cerebral Palsy Alliance
  • Ruby League Football Club 

    Queanbeyan

    Background:

    Fire destroyed the Queanbeyan Kangaroo Ruby League Football Club’s premises in February 2004. were engaged to assist with the preparation of the Material Damage & Business Interruption claims.

    Dear Greg

    On behalf of the Management, Directors and staff of the Kangaroo Club, I would like to thank you for your help and to acknowledge your contribution to the re-establishment of our Club after our devastating fire in February 2004.

    Chief Executive Officer, Queanbeyan Kangaroo Rugby League Football Club Limited

    Dear Greg

    On behalf of the Management, Directors and staff of the Kangaroo Club, I would like to thank you for your help and to acknowledge your contribution to the re-establishment of our Club after our devastating fire in February 2004.

    Your expertise has been invaluable in helping us to cope with all the insurance work involved and to correctly appraise what we could and couldn't claim. Your calm and friendly manner made what could have been an insurmountable problem, seem approachable and comprehendible. At no time did we feel intimidated by your knowledge or our lack of it, as everything was handled with the same efficient temperament and humour. We would certainly recommend your services to others and would be more than happy to do so.

    I recently spoke at a Gaming Management and Development Course about the fire and sang the praises of both yourself and Paynter Dixon.

    Thank you Greg, we couldn’t have done it without you.

    Chief Executive Officer, Queanbeyan Kangaroo Rugby League Football Club Limited

  • Hair Care and Beauty Products Importer/Wholesaler 

    Alexandria

    Background:

    Fire destroyed Dateline Imports’ Head Office and main warehouse in August 2003. were engaged to assist with the preparation of the Material Damage & Business Interruption claims.

    Dear Daryl

    On behalf of the staff and Directors of Dateline Imports Pty Ltd, I would like to thank you for the invaluable assistance that you and your staff provided to us in the preparation of the Material Damage and Business Interruption Insurance claims following the devastating fire that destroyed our Alexandria premises on August 2003.

    After the fire, when management resources were directed towards re-establishing the business, it was reassuring to know that your firm was devoting the necessary time and skill to preparing our Material Damage and Business Interruption claims, dealing with queries raised by the loss adjusters and assisting in negotiating final settlement of our claims. At all times, we were kept fully informed of developments.

    Managing Director, Dateline Imports

    Dear Daryl

    On behalf of the staff and Directors of Dateline Imports Pty Ltd, I would like to thank you for the invaluable assistance that you and your staff provided to us in the preparation of the Material Damage and Business Interruption Insurance claims following the devastating fire that destroyed our Alexandria premises on August 2003.

    After the fire, when management resources were directed towards re-establishing the business, it was reassuring to know that your firm was devoting the necessary time and skill to preparing our Material Damage and Business Interruption claims, dealing with queries raised by the loss adjusters and assisting in negotiating final settlement of our claims. At all times, we were kept fully informed of developments.

    We also appreciated your coherent explanations of the Policy Coverage and expert guidance in obtaining the necessary data to properly present the claims to the insurance company's loss adjuster. Without your knowledge of the Policy response and the extent of data required to prove our claims, we would not have received the full extent of insured losses that were covered under the Policy.

    Your prompt attention to the preparation of Material Damage and Business Interruption claims (which were in excess of $12M) also meant that progress payments were made to us on a timely basis which assisted in maintaining the liquidity of the business.

    I have no hesitation in recommending the services offered by your firm to any organisation facing a loss of any size.

    Managing Director, Dateline Imports

  • Plastics Manufacturer 

    Wetherill Park

    Background:

    Fire damage occurred to Symmetry Plastics’ factory in June 2000. were engaged to assist with the preparation of the Material Damage & Business Interruption claims.

    To Whom It May Concern

    The company specialises in injection moulding of plastic components for the aerosol, stationery and general beverage markets. Our company was very fortunate in being referred to for advice on preparing the claim to Lumley Insurance Company for both Material Damage and Business Interruption losses.

    The day after the fire all staff at Symmetry were obviously in a state of shock. Greg Kerr was contacted by us and visited us the following day to discuss claim. and in particular Greg Kerr displayed an exceptionally high level of professionalism and empathy at all times.

    Managing Director, Symmetry Plastics Pty Ltd

    To Whom It May Concern

    The company specialises in injection moulding of plastic components for the aerosol, stationery and general beverage markets. Our company was very fortunate in being referred to for advice on preparing the claim to Lumley Insurance Company for both Material Damage and Business Interruption losses.

    The day after the fire all staff at Symmetry were obviously in a state of shock. Greg Kerr was contacted by us and visited us the following day to discuss claim. and in particular Greg Kerr displayed an exceptionally high level of professionalism and empathy at all times.

    Over the following weeks worked tirelessly to ensure that all necessary documentation was completed in a timely and correct manner. They were able to secure part payment of the claim prior to processing which enabled us to meet our business commitments as and when they fell due. The experience and professional working relationship that they have developed with the loss assessors over a period of years came to the fore as were able to "cut to the chase" on many technical issues with the loss assessors thus saving an enormous amount of time and money.

    Their ethical standing is without reproach and this has enabled them to carve out a reputation in the marketplace as a company that will always act for the client’s best interests. Conversely they will always ensure that the insurance companies are treated justly, enabling the client to receive the best outcome.

    Symmetry Plastics was successful in negotiating a substantial commercial settlement with the Insurance company for which was at the high end of our planned negotiation strategy. This was due to the extremely well documented submission presented by & Holland coupled with attention to detail, knowledge of legal precedents/past claims and an extremely good rapport with the loss assessors.

    It was an absolute pleasure given our situation to use such a friendly, understanding and professional company. It is extremely rare in these times to "rave" about a company however in this instance I have nothing but praise for and in particular Greg Kerr.

    Managing Director, Symmetry Plastics Pty Ltd

  • Biscuit Manufacturer and Supplier of Industrial Baking Ovens 

    Hornsby

    Background:

    Fire destroyed Cookie Man’s factory in November 1999. Fire damage also occurred to part of the adjoining premises occupied by Auto-Bake Serpentine. were engaged to assist with the preparation of the Material Damage & Business Interruption claims for both companies.

    Dear Daryl

    Both Cookie Man and Auto-Bake can now put behind us the dark and awful happenings of the early morning of 30 November 1999. In no small measure due to your personal efforts, expertise and assistance, both companies have been able to restore what was lost in that fire and can now move on, hopefully to bigger and better things.

    On my own behalf and on behalf of my colleagues at both companies, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you sincerely for your expertise, professionalism and assistance in the processing of these claims over the last two years and five months.

    Director, Cookie Man & Auto-Bake

    Dear Daryl

    Both Cookie Man and Auto-Bake can now put behind us the dark and awful happenings of the early morning of 30 November 1999. In no small measure due to your personal efforts, expertise and assistance, both companies have been able to restore what was lost in that fire and can now move on, hopefully to bigger and better things.

    On my own behalf and on behalf of my colleagues at both companies, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you sincerely for your expertise, professionalism and assistance in the processing of these claims over the last two years and five months.

    Notwithstanding the unfortunate circumstances in which we met, I have very much enjoyed our association and do hope that our paths will cross again in the future, although perhaps not professionally!

    Thank you again.

    Director, Cookie Man & Auto-Bake

  • Gaming Solutions and Poker Machine Manufacturer 

    Rosebery

    Background:

    The hailstorm in April 1999 affected Aristocrat Leisure Industries’ manufacturing plant at Rosebery. were engaged to assist with the preparation of the Material Damage & Business Interruption claims.

    Dear Greg

    The purpose of this letter is to thank you for your assistance in helping Aristocrat through the difficulties we faced following the extensive damage and interruption to production sustained at our Rosebery manufacturing plant as a result of the April 1999 Sydney hail storm.

    The final total settlement of the Material Damage and Business Interruption claims of just under $9 million was an excellent result which would certainly not have been achieved had it not been for your technical advice and guidance through the claim process.

    Commercial Manager, Aristocrat Technologies Australia

    Dear Greg

    The purpose of this letter is to thank you for your assistance in helping Aristocrat through the difficulties we faced following the extensive damage and interruption to production sustained at our Rosebery manufacturing plant as a result of the April 1999 Sydney hail storm.

    The final total settlement of the Material Damage and Business Interruption claims of just under $9 million was an excellent result which would certainly not have been achieved had it not been for your technical advice and guidance through the claim process.

    Your assistance with the following matters was invaluable:

    • the interpretation of the Material Damage and Business Interruption Policy response;
    • the justification of losses sustained;
    • the co-ordination of claim related correspondence; and
    • negotiation with the Insurer's loss adjuster.

    We would have no hesitation in recommending the services of you and your firm to any organisation facing a catastrophe such as we did.

    I would be pleased to act as a referee should any of your prospective clients wish to have a chat.

    Commercial Manager, Aristocrat Technologies Australia

  • Rigid Packaging Manufacturer 

    Waterloo

    Background:

    Irwin & Sheehan suffered two major Business Interruption causing events – a fire in December 1996 and the Sydney hailstorm in April 1999. were engaged to assist with the preparation of the Material Damage & Business Interruption claims arising from both events.

    To Whom It May Concern

    We are a third generation family company operating within the rigid packaging market and have a history dating back to 1934.

    The company has suffered two near fatal upheavals over the past 5 years – a major fire in December 1996 and the Sydney hail storm of 1999.

    The fire of 1996 resulted in a multi-million dollar loss and the decision to rise again out of the ashes was a touch and go decision. The decision to continue on was in no small part influenced by the assistance lent to the company by Mr Greg Kerr and his staff of – Business Interruption Insurance & Commercial Economic Loss Consultants.

    Managing Director, Irwin & Sheehan Pty Ltd

    To Whom It May Concern

    We are a third generation family company operating within the rigid packaging market and have a history dating back to 1934.

    The company has suffered two near fatal upheavals over the past 5 years – a major fire in December 1996 and the Sydney hail storm of 1999.

    The fire of 1996 resulted in a multi-million dollar loss and the decision to rise again out of the ashes was a touch and go decision. The decision to continue on was in no small part influenced by the assistance lent to the company by Mr Greg Kerr and his staff of – Business Interruption Insurance & Commercial Economic Loss Consultants.

    The guidance and advice provided by Greg and his team produced the best possible outcome the company could have hoped for and re-established the platform the company required to regain its position in the market.

    When the hail storm hit Sydney in 1999, we were blessed with knowing that once again we could call on Greg to advise and lead us through the minefield of claim preparation which once again lead to a best possible outcome.

    continue their association with my company in advising on our insurance requirements on an as needs basis.

    I would be more than happy to reconfirm to any prospective client the highest level of professionalism that this company continues to provide.

    Managing Director, Irwin & Sheehan Pty Ltd

  • Printers of Pharmaceutical and Healthcare Packaging, Labels and Leaflets 

    Milperra

    Background:

    Fire destroyed the manufacturing operations and head office of P&I Pharmaceutical Printers in November 1998. were engaged to assist with the preparation of the Material Damage & Business Interruption claims. The claim was particularly challenging as there were two Insurers involved as the Insured had a stand-alone Business Interruption Policy.

    To Whom It May Concern

    Daryl Holland of was recommended to P&I Pharmaceutical Printers as a claims consultant by one of our advisors who sits on the National Foods Board. We suffered a $15 million loss due to a fire which destroyed our premises and machinery in November 1998.

    Daryl was instrumental in P&I being able to recover from such a total loss. His expertise in understanding insurance policies and dealing with assessors and the insured, enabled us to obtain maximum benefit from our insurance policies.

    Director, P&I Pharmaceutical Printers

    To Whom It May Concern

    Daryl Holland of was recommended to P&I Pharmaceutical Printers as a claims consultant by one of our advisors who sits on the National Foods Board. We suffered a $15 million loss due to a fire which destroyed our premises and machinery in November 1998.

    Daryl was instrumental in P&I being able to recover from such a total loss. His expertise in understanding insurance policies and dealing with assessors and the insured, enabled us to obtain maximum benefit from our insurance policies.

    Throughout the year long process Daryl was always extremely professional, meticulous with detail, organised and showed empathy.

    We placed our complete trust in Daryl's abilities and we were reassured constantly by his expert attention to our claim.

    I would have no hesitation in recommending Daryl Holland from .

    Director, P&I Pharmaceutical Printers

  • Computer Manufacturer 

    Rydalmere

    Background:

    Fire damage occurred to Optima Computer Technology’s premises in June 2000. were engaged to assist with the preparation of the Material Damage & Business Interruption claims.

    To Whom It May Concern

    Optima suffered extensive fire damage to its premises at Rydalmere on 16 April 1998. Damage to stock and contents owned by Optima exceeded $6 million. Given the extent of property damage, Optima also suffered a substantial interruption to business activities giving rise to a Business Interruption claim in excess of $1.3 million.

    At the time, our insurance broker, Jardine Lloyd Thompson Pty Ltd recommended that we appoint to assist in the preparation of the Material Damage and Business Interruption insurance claims.

    Director, Optima Computer Technology

    To Whom It May Concern

    Optima suffered extensive fire damage to its premises at Rydalmere on 16 April 1998. Damage to stock and contents owned by Optima exceeded $6 million. Given the extent of property damage, Optima also suffered a substantial interruption to business activities giving rise to a Business Interruption claim in excess of $1.3 million.

    At the time, our insurance broker, Jardine Lloyd Thompson Pty Ltd recommended that we appoint to assist in the preparation of the Material Damage and Business Interruption insurance claims.

    Mr Holland, a Director of initially devoted a substantial amount of time to assist us in the quantification of the Stock and Contents claims so that funds could be advanced by our insurer to help us quickly rebuild our business. Mr Holland also provided invaluable advice in relation to the cover under the Business Interruption Section of our Policy as well as the level of documentation that was required by Optima in support of the Business Interruption claim.

    Had it not been for 's extensive experience in the preparation of insurance claims and dealing with the loss adjusters, Optima would have had to devote significantly more management time to the insurance claim process at a time when management resources were stretched to the limit. The appointment of meant that Optima was properly indemnified for the losses suffered, also enabling Optima to recover promptly from the devastating loss suffered.

    We would have no hesitation in recommending the services of to any company that may suffer Insured loss or damage.

    Director, Optima Computer Technology

  • Manufacturer and importer of dance shoes, dance and active wear 

    Alexandria

    Background:

    Fire damage occurred to Bloch’s Australian head office, main warehouse and manufacturing facility in February 1996. were engaged to assist with the preparation of the Material Damage & Business Interruption claims.

    Dear Greg

    I would like to take the opportunity to thank you and Daryl for the professional and excellent service you have provided to the Group during the past 18 months.

    As a result of the fire of February 1996, we experienced total devastation and loss to our operations. All equipment, records, machinery and stock was destroyed and we faced a massive challenge of trying to resurrect all facets of our operations.

    I can state without any doubt, that your firm was absolutely crucial in helping bring our operations back to normality. The claim on hand, as you know, was the largest claim of the year to our insurer and with such large value at risk, I was very pleased to see your strategic approach to the matter. Your advice was invaluable, and the manner in which you conducted negotiations with the respective loss adjusters was essential to us in achieving a favourable outcome.

    General Manager, J Bloch Pty Ltd

    Dear Greg

    I would like to take the opportunity to thank you and Daryl for the professional and excellent service you have provided to the Group during the past 18 months.

    As a result of the fire of February 1996, we experienced total devastation and loss to our operations. All equipment, records, machinery and stock was destroyed and we faced a massive challenge of trying to resurrect all facets of our operations.

    I can state without any doubt, that your firm was absolutely crucial in helping bring our operations back to normality. The claim on hand, as you know, was the largest claim of the year to our insurer and with such large value at risk, I was very pleased to see your strategic approach to the matter. Your advice was invaluable, and the manner in which you conducted negotiations with the respective loss adjusters was essential to us in achieving a favourable outcome.

    Your commitment to service was fantastic, I must thank you for making yourself available on weekends, nights and other odd times. In addition, I must add that I really enjoyed working with both you & Daryl, something which made dealing with the claim that much easier.

    Since this event, we now have realised the importance of having a relationship with a company such as yourselves, not only from a claims perspective, but the ongoing necessity to ensure that our insurance's are correctly reviewed and that as an organisation we take-advantage of insurance planning for the future.

    On behalf of myself and the board of directors, thank you.

    General Manager, J Bloch Pty Ltd

TELEPHONE US

We have an unrivalled breadth of claims experience across many industries. Have a preliminary no charge and no obligation telephone discussion for up to 30 minutes to see how we can assist you.

Daryl Holland

Daryl Holland

Director

KERR & HOLLAND